Accredited "A" by NAAC

The University College of Science (erstwhile Government Science College) was established in 1940. In the beginning, it was an intermediate college. When it was upgraded into a degree college, BSc courses in different combinations such as PCM, CBZ, PMG and CBG were introduced. Commerce subjects too were introduced in 1970.

The erstwhile Government Science College was inaugurated by His Excellency Sri V.V. Giri, Bar-At-Law, the then Governor of Mysore on August 11, 1966. In 1973 the College was bifurcated into Science, and Arts Colleges. Since then, the College has been growing with its unique identity as an institution of pride and reputation.

In the year 2000-2001, new subjects like Computer Science, Microbiology, Electronics and Biochemistry were introduced in the College. In 2007-2008, Biotechnology was introduced, enabling students to pursue BSc with as CBBt combination.  In 2008, the Post Graduate courses were introduced in Physics, Chemistry and Environment Science. The student strength of the college is gradually increasing. In the year 2000, the strength was 1,040, in 2005 it was 1,300 and in year 2007-2008, it was 1,323. The college has an area of 90 acres and the campus is about 98,800 sq. ft. In 2009, the erstwhile Government Science College was handed over to Tumkur University, when it was renamed as University College of Science. Presently, it is one among the two constituent colleges of Tumkur University.

Dr. B. Tirumalachar was the first principal of the erstwhile Government Science College, whose tenure was from June 1940 to July 1945. Since then, the college has seen 28 principals. At present, Sri Eshwara H Y is the Principal of the College.

Under the able guidance and leadership of Tumkur University, the College is reaching greater heights from all angles. A Remote Sensing Centre has come up in the college as a joint venture of Tumkur University and ISRO. The college is equipping itself with more infrastructure and space in order to accommodate more courses and facilities. A digital library is also coming up on the campus. A number of faculties in different departments have applied for major and minor research projects, seeking funds from various agencies, while many of them have already got their projects sanctioned.


Dr. H Y Eswara
University College of Science, Tumkur University


  • 3-month Coaching Classes for IAS/KAS for Students of SC/ST/Minority, 29 March 2012 View Report
  • "Akshara Akshaya": An Awareness Programme, 27 November 2011 View Report

Forth Coming Events View Events
Announcements View All
Academic Calendar for M B A
Academic Calendar for P G
UG Exams 2017 - Time Table
Constitution of Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation Board (PMEB)
ಭಾಷಾ ವಿಷಯಗಳಿಗೆ ಸಂಬಂಧಿಸಿದ ಮಹಾಪ್ರಭಂದಗಳ ಕೃತಿ ಚೌರ್ಯ ತಪಾಷಣೆ ನಡೆಸುವ ಬಗ್ಗೆ
Provisional Allocation of PhD Guides and wait listed candidates list
Extension of date for submission of Application for Convocation
Question Paper Pattern for the Paper: Business Communication, III and IV Sem B.Com Degree Exam
Merit List of NET/ SLET/KSET Candidates Who have appeared For VIVA-VOCE Exam (Ph.D)
Marks Secured by the Candidates Who have appeared for VIVA Exam (PhD) held on 7-10-2017
Departmental Exam Nov 2017: Time Table and Application Form
Implementation of Central Sector Scheme of Scholarship for College and University through National Scholarship portal 2.0
Exam Fee UG (Oct/Nov 2017)
Merit List of candidates who have Appeared for PhD Entrance Exam
Modified Calendar of Events for PhD Admissions in Dept. of Studies & Research in History & Archaeology
Circular: Online Courses on SWAYAM Portal
Uploading Data of Colleges in KYC - UGC Portal
Calendar of Events for Ph.D. Admission 2017-18 for qualified candidates
Circular : Govt., of India Post Metric Scholarship 2017 SC/ST
U G Revised Calender of events 2017-18
Constitution of Internal Quality Assurance committee
Omnibus Merit List 2017-18
Ph D Notification 2017
Quotations/Tenders View All